The Flash Movie Officially Titled Flashpoint

Kofi Outlaw


DC Comics brought its new lineup of DC Extended Universe movies to Comic-Con 2017 and one of them came with a major reveal: The Flash movie in the DCEU will officilally be titled Flashpoint!

DC Comics fans are going to hear that title and start freaking out! "Flashpoint" was written by DC Films head Geoff Johns, and remains one of the most beloved and epic DC Comics storylines of the last decade - with huge implications for the future of the DCEU.

In the story, Barry Allen/The Flash travels back in time to stop his nemesis, The Reverse-Flash, from killing Barry's mother when he was a kid. However, that benevolent action creates a butterfly effect that reverberates throughout the entire DC Universe, changing the fates of many of its superheroes. As Barry tries to unravel the mystery of what happened to the timeline, the new world of "Flashpoint" faces Armageddon, as a war between Aquaman's Atlantis and Wonder Woman's Amazons threatens the globe with nuclear annihilation.

One of the most beloved aspects of Flashpoint is the new versions of iconic DC Comics heroes and villains it presents (see: Thomas Wayne Batman), and that prospect raises some exciting questions about what can/will be done with this DCEU adaptation.

We will next see Ezra Miller's DCEU Flash in Justice League this fall.

In Justice League, fueled by his restored faith in humanity and inspired by Superman’s selfless act, Bruce Wayne enlists the help of his newfound ally, Diana Prince, to face an even greater enemy. Together, Batman and Wonder Woman work quickly to find and recruit a team of metahumans to stand against this newly awakened threat. But despite the formation of this unprecedented league of heroes—Batman, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, Cyborg and The Flash—it may already be too late to save the planet from an assault of catastrophic proportions.

Justice League is directed by Zack Snyder, from a screenplay by Chris Terrio, and features an ensemble cast that includes Ben Affleck (Batman), Henry Cavill (Superman), Gal Gadot (Wonder Woman), Ezra Miller (The Flash), Jason Momoa (Aquaman), Ray Fisher (Cyborg), Ciarán Hinds (Steppenwolf), Amy Adams (Lois Lane), Diane Lane (Martha Kent), Jeremy Irons (Alfred Pennyworth), J.K. Simmons (Commissioner Gordon), Amber Heard (Mera), Kiersey Clemons (Iris West) and Jesse Eisenberg (Lex Luthor).

Wonder Woman is in theaters now, and will be followed by Justice League on November 17, 2017; Aquaman on July 27, 2018; Shazam on April 5, 2019; Justice League 2 on June 14, 2019; Cyborg on April 3, 2020; and Green Lantern Corps on July 24, 2020. The Flash, The Batman, Dark Universe and Man of Steel 2 are currently without a release dates.


(Photo: Warner Bros.)
(Photo: Warner Bros.)
(Photo: Warner Bros.)
(Photo: @StryderHD)
(Photo: Warner Bros.)
(Photo: Warner Bros. / EW)
(Photo: Warner Bros.)
(Photo: Empire via ComicBookMovie)
(Photo: WB/Empire)
Latest News