This site uses cookies, tokens, and other third party scripts to recognize visitors of our sites and services, remember your settings and privacy choices, and — depending on your settings and privacy choices — enable us and some key partners to collect information about you so that we can improve our services and deliver relevant ads.

By continuing to use our site or clicking Accept, you agree that CBS and our key partners may collect data and use cookies for personalized ads and other purposes, as described more fully in our privacy policy. You can change your settings at any time by clicking Manage Settings.


Marvel Announces A-Force Secret Wars Tie-In

Jamie Lovett


Today, Marvel Comics announced A-Force, a new series written by Ms. Marvel and X-Men writer G. Willow Wilson and Angela: Asgard's Assassin writer Marguerite Bennett, and drawn by X-Men artist Jorge Molina.

The series will feature A-Force, a new, all-female team that will replace the Avengers during the events of Marvel’s Secret Wars mega-crossover.

The team will consist of She-Hulk, Medusa, Dazzler, Nico Minoru and many of Marvel's other top female heroes. The series will also debut a new, cosmically powered heroine named Singularity, a pocket universe that gained sentience during the incursion events leading up to Secret Wars. Without an innate gender of her own, Singularity chooses to become female.

Wilson tells USA Today that, with Singularity, they want to "strip it all the way down to the basics: What does it mean to be a woman and what would that look like to somebody who was learning about the human race as an outsider and is learning about what it means to have relationships with other people."

The team will form in Arcadia, the "feminist paradise" region of Battleworld, to battle an old foe from Marvel's past.

Wilson and her editor, Daniel Ketchum, were given free reign to chose whatever characters they wanted for the team, as long as they were all female and at least one of them was brand new. Singularity fills the quota for a new character, and the rest represent the disparate corners of the Marvel Universe: She-Hulk is an Avenger, Dazzler an X-Man, Medusa an Inhuman, and Nico one of Marvel's many teen heroes.

“We've purposefully assembled a team composed of very different characters — from disparate parts of the Marvel U, with very different power sets, identities and ideologies," Wilson said. "They'll all have to come together to answer some big questions: What would you sacrifice to succeed? What is being a hero worth?”

Secret Wars begins in May.

(via Mashable).

Latest News