Ant-Man, Avengers, Star Wars On Oscars VFX Shortlist


Disney has to be pretty happy with the just-released shortlist for the Visual Effects Oscar this year.

Just a year after Guardians of the Galaxy and Captain America: The Winter Soldier were both nominated for technical Oscars but failed to close the deal, two more Marvel films -- Avengers: Age of Ultron and Ant-Man -- and Star Wars: The Force Awakens are all on the shortlist.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part Two and Mad Max: Fury Road are also on the list, along with a number of films including critical flops like Terminator: Genisys and Chappie.

You can check out the full list below.

"Avengers: Age of Ultron"
"Bridge of Spies"
"Ex Machina"
"Furious Seven"
"The Hunger Games: Mockingjay – Part 2"
"In the Heart of the Sea"
"Jupiter Ascending"
"Jurassic World"
"Mad Max: Fury Road"
"The Martian"
"Mission: Impossible – Rogue Nation"
"The Revenant"
"Star Wars: The Force Awakens"
"Terminator Genisys"
"The Walk"


The shortlist can feature as many as twenty films, although the final list of nominations will include only ten.

Academy Awards nominations will be announced live on Thursday, Jan. 14, 2016, at 5:30 a.m. PT, and The 88th Oscars will be held on Sunday, Feb. 28, 2016. The show will be broadcast at 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT.