Mad Max: Fury Road Named Best Film By National Board Of Review

mad max fury road
(Photo: Warner Bros.)

The National Board of Review has named Mad Max: Fury Road the best film of the 2015. George Miller directed the fourth film in the Mad Max franchise after a 30 year hiatus. The film stars Tom Hardy as Max, and Charlize Theron as the show-stealing Imperator Furiosa. Warner Bros. is also pushing the film for a Best Picture nomination from the Academy Awards.

The Board granted three awards to The Martian, naming Ridley Scott as Best Director, Matt Damon as Best Actor, and Drew Goddard for Best Adapted Screenplay.

Other award recipients include a Best Supporting Actor win for Sylvester Stallone in Creed, Best Original Screenplay going to Quentin Tarantino for The Hateful eight, and Best Animated Feature going to Inside Out.

A complete list of winners follows.

Best Film: Mad Max: Fury Road

Best Director: Ridley Scott – The Martian

Best Actor: Matt Damon – The Martian

Best Actress: Brie Larson – Room

Best Supporting Actor: Sylvester Stallone – Creed

Best Supporting Actress: Jennifer Jason Leigh – The Hateful Eight

Best Original Screenplay: Quentin Tarantino – The Hateful Eight

Best Adapted Screenplay: Drew Goddard – The Martian

Best Animated Feature: Inside Out

Breakthrough Performance: Abraham Attah – Beasts of No Nation & Jacob Tremblay – Room

Best Directorial Debut: Jonas Carpignano – Mediterranea

Best Foreign Language Film: Son of Saul

Best Documentary: Amy

William K. Everson Film History Award: Cecilia De Mille Presley

Best Ensemble: The Big Short

Spotlight Award: Sicario for Outstanding Collaborative Vision

NBR Freedom of Expression Award: Beasts of No Nation & Mustang