Suicide Squad Cast Revealed - Includes Jared Leto, Will Smith & More

Warner Bros. Pictures has officially announced the cast for the new action adventure Suicide [...]

Warner Bros. Pictures has officially announced the cast for the new action adventure Suicide Squad. The announcement was made today by Greg Silverman, President, Creative Development and Worldwide Production, Warner Bros. Pictures.

The film will star two-time Oscar nominee Will Smith as Deadshot; Tom Hardy as Rick Flag; Margot Robbie as Harley Quinn; Oscar winner Jared Leto as the Joker; Jai Courtney as Boomerang; and Cara Delevingne as Enchantress.

In making the announcement, Silverman said, "The Warner Bros. roots are deep on this one. David Ayer returns to the studio where he wrote 'Training Day' and brings his incredible ability to craft multidimensional villains to this iconic DC property with a cast of longtime Warner collaborators Will Smith and Tom Hardy, and other new and returning favorites: Margot, Jared, Jai and Cara. We look forward to seeing this terrific ensemble, under Ayer's amazing guidance, give new meaning to what it means to be a villain and what it means to be a hero."

Ayer is also writing the script for "Suicide Squad," which is being produced by Charles Roven ("The Dark Knight" trilogy, upcoming "Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice") and Richard Suckle ("American Hustle"). Zack Snyder, Deborah Snyder, Colin Wilson and Geoff Johns are serving as executive producers.

Many of these cast members have been rumored to be a part of the David Ayers directed film for weeks. Other rumors suggest that Jessie Eisenberg is in talks to reprise his role as Lex Luthor, from Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice, as well, but those reports were not confirmed.

Variety reported that Warner Bros. is still working on casting Amanda Waller, and is said to currently be eyeing Viola Davis, Octavia Spencer and Oprah Winfrey for the role.

Suicide Squad will open in theaters August 5, 2016.