2013 Harvey Awards Winners Announced

Harvey Awards 2013

The 26th Annual Harvey Awards took place on Saturday, September 7, 2013 at the Baltimore Comic-Con. The Harvey Awards are named in honor of Harvey Kurtzman, who was a cartoonist, writer, and editor. While he did extensive work in the comics field, he is often best remembered as the founding editor of MAD magazine.

Nominations for the Harvey Awards are selected exclusively by creators: those who write, draw, ink, letter, color, design, edit or are otherwise involved in a creative capacity in the comics field. The Harvey Awards are the only industry awards both nominated and selected by the full body of comic book professionals.

Here is a list of the 2013 Harvey Awards Winners.

Best Single Issue or Story: Saga #1 Best Cartoonist: Jaime Hernandez Best Artist: Fiona Staples Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan Best Continuing or Limited Series: Saga Best Graphic Album, Original: Richard Stark's Parker: The Score Dick Giordano Hero Initiative Humanitarian of the Year Award: Paul Levitz Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: Building Stories Best Biographical, Historical or Journalistic Presentation: Robot 6 Website Best cover Artist: David Aja Best Domestic Reprint Project: David Mazzuccheli's Daredevil: Born Again, Artist's Edition Best Anthology: Dark Horse Presents Best Graphic Album Previously Published: Alien: The Illustrated Story Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: Adventure Time Special Award for Humor in Comics: Ryan North Most Promising New Talent: Dennis Hopeless Best New Series: Saga Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement: Sal Buscema Best Inker: Klaus Janson Best American Edition of Foreign Work: Blacksad: A Silent Hell Best Online Comics Work: Battlepug Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: Dick Tracy Best Colorist: Fiona Staples Best Letterer: Todd Klein