Guardians Of The Galaxy's James Gunn Unveils The Full Awesome Mix Vol. 1 Track Listing

awesome mixtape 1 guardians of the galaxy soundtrack

Guardians of the Galaxy director James Gunn has revealed the entire track listing the “Awesome Mix, Vol. 1.”

As Gunn notes in the post, “Awesome Mix, Vol. 1” is the mixtape he gave to Chris Pratt to listen to repeatedly while getting into the character of Peter Quill. These were the songs given to Quill by his mother, to which Quill listened to while growing up and living his life in space. Gunn wanted to Pratt to know and be as familiar with the music as Quill himself would have been.

Gunn note that some of the songs on the original mixtape were not on the commercially released Awesome Mix, Vol. 1 soundtrack, because they did not make it into the film. Some were in early version of the movie, but their sequences ended up on the editing room floor. Others never found a place in the film, but were still used as inspiration for the character.

Here is that original list - the newer songs have a * -

I’m Not in Love - 10cc
Come and Get Your Love – Redbone
Go All the Way – Raspberries (band)
*Never Been to Spain – Three Dog Night
Hooked on a Feeling – Blue Swede
*Magic - Pilot (band)
The Pina Colada Song – Rupert Holmes
*Livin’ Thing – Electric Light Orchestra
Moonage Daydream - David Bowie (Official)
Fooled Around and Fell in Love – Elvin Bishop
*Fox on the Run - The Sweet
Cherry Bomb – The Runaways
Spirit in the Sky - Norman Greenbaum
O-O-H Child – Five Stairsteps
*Surrender – Cheap Trick


Here’s Gunn’s entire post:

Post by James Gunn.

As Gunn notes, the songs are available on iTunes and other digital music platforms for anyone who wants to add them to their personal “Awesome Mix.”