Arrow, The Flash, & iZombie Win Leo Awards


On Saturday, at the Hyatt Regency in Vancouver, British Columbia, the first batch of Leo Award-winners were announced. Three of The CW's comic book-based television series The Flash, Arrow, and iZombie were nominated in multiple categories and ended up winning one Leo apiece.

The VFX team for The Flash —Armen V. Kevorkian, James Baldanzi, Gevork Babityan, Marc Lougee, and Thomas James Connors — won for Best Visual Effects in a Dramatic Series, based on episode 7 of Season 2, "Gorilla Warfare." They beat out VFX teams for Bitten ("Family, Of Sorts"), Helix ("San Jose"), and the double-nominated Supernatural ("O Brother Where Art Thou?" and "Brothers Keeper").

The costume department for Arrow — led by Maya Mani — won for Best Costume Design in a Dramatic Series, based on episode 22 of Season 3, "This Is Your Sword." They were also nominated in the category for episode 8 of Season 4, "Legends Of Yesterday." The only other show nominated in the category was Continuum ("Final Hour").

The makeup department for iZombie — Amber Trudeau, Malin Sjostrom, Cory Roberts, and Rebekah Bak — won for Best Makeup in a Dramatic Series, based on episode 10 of Season 2, "Method Head." There was only one other show nominated in the category: Motive ("The Amateurs").


The Leo Awards are the awards program for the British Columbia film and television industry. Held each May or June in Vancouver, the Leo Awards were founded by the Motion Picture Arts and Sciences Foundation of British Columbia, and celebrate feature films, short films, TV series, documentaries, children's programming, and more.

To see a list of all the winners that have been announced, click here.