Google Stadia Release Date Revealed

The release date for Google's cloud-gaming service, Google Stadia, was revealed today during a launch event for the Pixel 4. The service, which was announced earlier this year, basically allows folks to stream video games to devices, such as a Chromecast, with all the heavy lifting being done by Google's data centers rather than a local PC or something of the sort.

The company had previously revealed that it would launch Stadia in November 2019, but the exact date itself is news. While this is the launch of the subscription service via the Founder's Edition which includes three months of Stadia Pro, a Buddy Pass for a friend, a Chromecast Ultra, and a Night Blue Stadia Controller for $129, the free version of Stadia -- called "Stadia Base" -- won't launch until next year, and no free game come with the latter. The subscription service, on its own, clocks in at $9.99 a month.

"Stadia Founder’s Edition will start arriving on gamers’ doorsteps on November 19, 2019," a post from John Justice, Vice President of Product, Stadia, on the official Google blog states. "If you were one of the first gamers who pre-ordered and have received your Founder’s Editions, you’ll be able to buy and play your favorite games beginning at 9AM PST/5PM BST/6PM CET on November 19. You can play Red Dead Redemption 2, Mortal Kombat 11, Kine, and more on your TV, laptop, desktop, and select tablets and phones."

1comments

What do you think about what you've seen of Google Stadia so far? Are you excited to check out the cloud-gaming service? Let us know in the comments, or hit me up directly on Twitter at @rollinbishop to talk all things gaming!

Google's Stadia cloud-gaming service is set to release on November 19th. You can check out all of our previous coverage of the upcoming service -- and the games already announced for it -- right here.