2010 Eisner Award Winners Announced at Comic-Con

One of the highlights of any Comic-Con, besides the sneak peeks at movies, comics and other cool stuff, is the announcing of the winners of the Eisner Awards. The awards, given out each year for excellence in comic books and named for legend Will Eisner, had a diverse and high profile list of presenters and honorees this year, and the awards spanned the comic book industry and publishers. The list of winners are presented below: Best Short Story "Urgent Request," by Gene Luen Yang and Derek Kirk Kim, in The Eternal Smile (First Second) Best Single Issue (or One-Shot) Captain America #601: "Red, White, and Blue-Blood," by Ed Brubaker and Gene Colan (Marvel) Best Continuing Series The Walking Dead, by Robert Kirkman and Charles Adlard (Image) Best Limited Series or Story Arc The Wonderful Wizard of Oz, by Eric Shanower and Skottie Young (Marvel) Best New Series Chew, by John Layman and Rob Guillory (Image) Best Publication for Kids The Wonderful Wizard of Oz hc, by L. Frank Baum, Eric Shanower, and Skottie Young (Marvel) Best Publication for Teens Beasts of Burden, by Evan Dorkin and Jill Thompson (Dark Horse) Best Humor Publication Scott Pilgrim vol. 5: Scott Pilgrim vs. the Universe, by Bryan Lee O'Malley (Oni) Best Anthology Popgun vol. 3, edited by Mark Andrew Smith, D. J. Kirkbride, and Joe Keatinge (Image) Best Digital Comic Sin Titulo, by Cameron Stewart, www.sintitulocomic.com Best Reality-Based Work A Drifting Life, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Drawn & Quarterly) Best Adaptation from Another Work Richard Stark's Parker: The Hunter, adapted by Darwyn Cooke (IDW) Best Graphic Album—New Asterios Polyp, by David Mazzuccheilli (Pantheon) Best Graphic Album—Reprint Absolute Justice, by Alex Ross, Jim Krueger, and Doug Braithewaite (DC) Best Archival Collection/Project—Strips Bloom County: The Complete Library, vol. 1, by Berkeley Breathed, edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW) Best Archival Collection/Project—Comic Books The Rocketeer: The Complete Adventures deluxe edition, by Dave Stevens, edited by Scott Dunbier (IDW) Best U.S. Edition of International Material The Photographer, by Emmanuel Guibert, Didier Lef vre, and Fr d ric Lemerier (First Second) Best U.S. Edition of International Material—Asia A Drifting Life, by Yoshihiro Tatsumi (Drawn & Quarterly) Best Writer Ed Brubaker, Captain America, Daredevil, Marvels Project (Marvel) Criminal, Incognito (Marvel Icon) Best Writer/Artist David Mazzuccheilli, Asterios Polyp (Pantheon) Best Writer/Artist–Nonfiction Joe Sacco, Footnotes in Gaza (Metropolitan/Holt) Best Penciller/Inker or Penciller/Inker Team J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics (DC) Best Painter/Multimedia Artist (interior art) Jill Thompson, Beasts of Burden (Dark Horse); Magic Trixie and the Dragon(HarperCollins Children's Books) Best Cover Artist J. H. Williams III, Detective Comics (DC) Best Coloring Dave Stewart, Abe Sapien, BPRD, The Goon, Hellboy, Solomon Kane, Umbrella Academy, Zero Killer (Dark Horse); Detective Comics (DC); Luna Park (Vertigo) Best Lettering David Mazzuccheilli, Asterios Polyp (Pantheon) Best Comics-Related Periodical/Journalism The Comics Reporter, produced by Tom Spurgeon (www.comicsreporter.com) Best Comics-Related Book The Art of Harvey Kurtzman: The Mad Genius of Comics, by Denis Kitchen and Paul Buhle (Abrams ComicArts) Best Publication Design Absolute Justice, designed by Curtis King and Josh Beatman (DC) Recognized for exceptional achievements were the following, who got special recognition or Hall of Fame status at the ceremony: Will Eisner Spirit of Comics Retailer Award Vault of Midnight, Ann Arbor, Michigan



- Burne Hogarth - Bob Montana - Steve Gerber - Dick Giordano - Michael Kaluta - Mort Weisinger Bob Clampett Humanitarian Award: Jeannie Schulz Bill Finger Award for Achievement in Comic Book Writing: Otto Binder, Gary Friedrich Russ Manning Most Promising Newcomer Award: Marian Churchland (Beast)