Suicide Squad Soundtrack Goes Gold

All your friends may be heathens, but they have at least bought the official Suicide Squad album. The wildly popular soundtrack just received a Gold Certification from the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America), and it looks like the squad is celebrating.

Yeah you read that right #boom? #squad #gold #smashes

A photo posted by Kevin Weaver (@kevweaver) on

Kev Weaver, the executive vice president at Atlantic Records, posted a photo to Instagram to commemorate the milestone. He took a screenshot of an email announcing the golden accomplishment that reads, “Congratulations, guys!! Suicide Squad: The Album is officially RIAA Gold!”

The soundtrack also stands as the first to go Gold after being released this year. It took only six weeks to reach the award which indicates the album sold at least 500,000 units so far. Kev celebrated the accomplishment and wrote, “Yeah you read that right #boom.”

Of course, many fans are not surprised by the award. After all, Suicide Squad: The Album did debut at the top of the Billboard 200 Chart. It sold over 182,000 album units either physically or digitally to reach the No. 1 spot. Suicide Squad: The Album was the first soundtrack to top the chart since Disney’s Descendants debuted last year at the top spot.

If you haven’t checked out the album yet, then you can buy it in-stores or through digital distributions sites like iTunes and more. It houses exclusive tracks from Panic at the Disco, Twenty-One Pilots, Skrillex, and more. For a full track list, read below:

  1. Purple Lamborghini [Explicit] by Skrillex & Rick Ross
  2. Sucker For Pain (with Logic, Ty Dolla $ign & X Ambassadors) [Explicit] by Lil Wayne, Wiz Khalifa & Imagine Dragons
  3. Heathens by twenty one pilots
  4. Standing In The Rain (feat. Mark Ronson) [Explicit] by Action Bronson & Dan Auerbach (of The Black Keys)
  5. Gangsta [Explicit] by Kehlani
  6. Know Better [Explicit] by Kevin Gates
  7. You Don't Own Me (feat. G-Eazy) by Grace
  8. Without Me by Eminem
  9. Wreak Havoc by Skylar Grey
  10. Medieval Warfare by Grimes
  11. Bohemian Rhapsody by Panic! At The Disco
  12. Slippin' Into Darkness by War
  13. Fortunate Son by Creedence Clearwater Revival
  14. I Started a Joke (feat. Becky Hanson) by ConfidentialMX

It feels good to be bad… Assemble a team of the world’s most dangerous, incarcerated Super Villains, provide them with the most powerful arsenal at the government’s disposal, and send them off on a mission to defeat an enigmatic, insuperable entity. U.S. intelligence officer Amanda Waller has determined only a secretly convened group of disparate, despicable individuals with next to nothing to lose will do. However, once they realize they weren’t picked to succeed but chosen for their patent culpability when they inevitably fail, will the Suicide Squad resolve to die trying, or decide it’s every man for himself?

Written and directed by Ayer based on the characters from DC Comics, Suicide Squad stars Jai Courtney (“Insurgent”), Jay Hernandez (“Takers”), Adewale Akinnuoye-Agbaje (“Thor: The Dark World”), Ike Barinholtz (“Neighbors”), Scott Eastwood (“Fury”), Cara Delevingne (“Paper Towns”), Adam Beach (“Cowboys & Aliens”), and Karen Fukuhara in her feature film debut. It is produced by Charles Roven and Richard Suckle, with Zack Snyder, Deborah Snyder, Colin Wilson and Geoff Johns serving as executive producers.