Album Turns Classic Video Game Tunes Into Soothing Lullabies

We’re always good for listening to video game music, especially as the work day goes on. That [...]


We're always good for listening to video game music, especially as the work day goes on. That said, there are some being made with a different purpose – soothing away what ails you and providing you a good night's sleep.

The album, titled Prescription For Sleep: Fight For Your Dreams, features a number of songs that will sound quite familiar to you, but not in the way that you'd expect.

It features 12 fully licensed tracks, under the description "jazzy lullabies," with a number of contributing artists that worked on popular games. For instance, Metal Gear Solid and Bayonetta composer Norihiko Hibino is on saxophone, and Etrian Odyssey and Persona Q performer Ayika is on piano. They performed and arranged the album under the band name Gentle Love.

You'll recognize songs from games like Super Metroid, Mega Man 2, and Final Fantasy XV, above others.

"The premise of Final Fantasy XV is that a prince and his closest companions head out on a road trip to the wedding of the prince, but as they leave the crown city the evil empire invades and kills many of those closest to the prince," said producer Jayon Naopitano. "He has to find strength with his friends by his side and reclaim this throne."

"This battle theme plays when encountering the infantry soldiers from the evil empire who are in pursuit of the prince. It therefore has this sense of anger, frustration, and dread. There's still a lovely melody in here, and like most of Yoko Shimomura's work, there's some lovely piano work for AYAKI to work with. The themes can center around companionship, as the game is very much focused on the relationship between Prince Noctics and his friends."


Here's the full track list for the album, which you'll be able to buy starting October 10th:

  1. Veiled in Black (Final Fantasy XV)
  2. Boss (Mega Man 2)
  3. Megalovania (Undertale)
  4. Battle with the Four Fiends (Final Fantasy IV)
  5. Those Imprisoned by Destiny (Chrono Cross)
  6. Mini-Boss (Super Mario World 2: Yoshi's Island)
  7. Autobot-Decepticon Battle (Transformers: The Movie (1986))
  8. Beasts as Black as Night (Wanderers from Ys: Ys III)
  9. Ornstein & Smough (Dark Souls)
  10. Intolerance (Raystorm)
  11. Mother Brain (Super Metroid)
  12. In a Better Place (Original)

You can pre-order the album here on Bandcamp, and give some of the tracks a sample listen. Just don't fall asleep while doing so, yeah?