Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson Celebrates July 4th With Baywatch Motion Poster

Today, as the United States of America is celebrating Independence Day, Dwayne “The Rock” [...]


Today, as the United States of America is celebrating Independence Day, Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson wished everyone a happy Fourth of July with a new, patriotic motion-poster for his Baywatch movie, which doesn't arrive in theaters until next year.

The poster features the main cast: (from left to right) Kelly Rohrbach as C. J. Parker, Alexandra Daddario as Summer Quinn, Jon Bass as Ronnie, Dwayne Johnson as Mitch Buchannon, Priyanka Chopra as Victoria Leeds, Ilfenesh Hadera as Stephanie Holden, and Zac Efron as Matt Brody.

With the exception of Chopra, who is reportedly playing the film's villain, the rest of the cast is wearing their red and blue lifeguard uniforms/swimwear. Also of note: The Rock is holding a blue sparkler and wearing an Uncle Sam top hat, Bass -- the chubby English comedian -- is partaking in the July Fourth tradition of stuffing his face with a hotdog, and Efron has an American flag painted on his muscular chest.

BAYWATCH follows devoted lifeguard Mitch Buchannon (Johnson) as he butts heads with a brash new recruit (Efron). Together, they uncover a local criminal plot that threatens the future of the Bay.

Seth Gordon ("Horrible Bosses," "Identity Thief") is directing the film from a screenplay most recently written by Damian Shannon & Mark Swift and Barry Schwartz. Beau Flynn ("San Andreas," "Hercules"), Ivan Reitman ("Ghostbusters," "Up In the Air"), and Michael Berk, Doug Schwartz ("Soul Surfer") & Greg Bonann, creators of the iconic "Baywatch" television series, are producing. The executive producers are Michele Berk ("Bandits," "Kill the Sparrows"), Louise Rosner ("The Big Short, "The Hunger Games" franchise), Tom Pollock ("Up In The Air," "Oold School"), and Ali Bell ("Hitchcock"). Eli Roth is a co-producer.

The film stars Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson ("Central Intelligence," "San Andreas," "Fast & Furious" franchise) and Zac Efron ("Neighbors," "Mike and Dave Need Wedding Dates"). Joining Johnson and Efron are Alexandra Daddario ("San Andreas," "True Detective"), Priyanka Chopra ("Quantico"), Jon Bass ("Big Time in Hollywood, FL," "The Newsroom"), Kelly Rohrbach ("Café Society"), Ilfenesh Hadera ("Billions"), and Hannibal Buress ("Daddy's Home," "Neighbors").

Baywatch will be released on May 19, 2017.