Overwatch Gets An Awesome New Deathmatch Update

Have you been looking to get into a good round of Deathmatch in Overwatch? Well, good news – [...]


Have you been looking to get into a good round of Deathmatch in Overwatch? Well, good news – your wait has officially come to an end.

A new update has just been applied to the game across the board, on Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC, and you can now partake in two Deathmatch game modes, although there is something to keep in mind with them.

The mode offers a free-for-all battle mode in which eight players can take on one another trying to get to 20 points first. That means no more team battles – it's every person for themselves. That's not the usual Overwatch way, but we'll definitely take it.

There's also a Team Deathmatch mode, though, and this mode is pretty standard, with teams of four taking on one another in the hopes of reaching 30 points in the match. But keep in mind if someone gets resurrected, that'll take a point away from your team's score – so stay alive as long as you can! Also, don't kill yourself – that costs you a point as well.

The modes can be played through Custom Games, and there are a number of maps that are supported in the following rotation:

  • Chateau Guillard
  • Hanamura
  • Horizon Lunar Colony
  • Temple of Anubis
  • Volskaya Industries
  • Dorado
  • Eichenwalde
  • Hollywood
  • King's Row
  • Black Forest (TDM only)
  • Castillo (TDM only)
  • Ecopoint: Antarctica (TDM only)
  • Necropolis (TDM only)

You're not seeing things. A new map, Chateau Guillard, is included in that list, and it's exclusive to Deathmatch modes. Here's its description, straight from Blizzard:

"Chateau Guillard is located near Annecy in southeastern France. For hundreds of years, it was the estate of the influential Guillard family, until it gradually fell into disrepair after the family's power waned in the decades after the Revolution. Recently, the chateau has found a new owner: the Talon agent Widowmaker, who has returned to her family's ancestral home."

So there you have it – get into Deathmatch and frag a few folks to your heart's content. We'll see you in there and be unlocking content like a boss.

Overwatch is available now for Xbox One, PlayStation 4 and PC.