Destiny 2: A Quick Guide to Unlocking Subclasses

Destiny 2 is now out for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One users and for those just jumping into the action, here's an easy to use guide on how to unlock subclasses for your favourite Warlocks, Titans, and Hunters.

The team over at Bungie continues to celebrate the release of their MMO shooter Destiny 2. As promised, a lot of new elements have been added to the game, as well as tweaks to what carried over from the first title. With the new classes added - Arcstrider, Sentinel, and Dawnbringer - some might be wondering what happened to the Gunslinger, Sunbreaker, and Voidwalker abilities. Good new is that they are available! Not so good news is that you'll have to work for it and outside the scope of the main storyline.

For each class, there are two subclasses in the Destiny sequel. In order to fully unlock these, players will need to find Relics in loot chests. This encourages Guardians to explore the expansive worlds with Destiny 2. Loot chests can also be acquired through public events, raids, and the end of Lost Sector.

Specific relics are attached to specific subclasses. The current subclasses in-game are:


  • Striker - Arc-based class for massive amounts of damage
  • Sunbreaker - A Solar-based class for burning damage


  • Voidwalker - Huge pockets of energy for explosive Void Damage
  • Stormcaller - Damage through lightening


  • Nighstalker - Immobilises enemies
  • Gunslinger - Solar-based targeted damage

The drops appear to be random, though that might become more regulated in the future. The next step is getting the artefact. Once charged, either through natural progression or participation in Public Events, a noticification will pop up stating, "Your lost strength is returning to you. Return to the Shard in the EDZ and restore your Light."


This will then jump start the mission in the EDZ (European Dead Zone) to go back to the Shard of the Traveler and "restore your light". Once completed, the subclass is yours and you can then begin your upgrades. So get out there, loot every chest you can find, and become the best possible Guardian you can be!

Destiny 2 is out now for Xbox One and PlayStation 4, with a PC release slated for October 24th.