What Are Pokemon Go's New Regional Exclusive Pokemon?

Pokemon Go players will need to be ready for some globetrotting if they want to get all of the game's new Pokemon.

Yesterday, Pokemon Go added a total of 50 new Pokemon to the game, all of which originally appeared in Pokemon Ruby and Sapphire. Of course, with every new set of Pokemon comes more "regional-exclusive" Pokemon that can only be found in certain areas of the world.

Sure enough, there's a total of four new regional-exclusive Pokemon out of the new batch of Pokemon. We reported yesterday that Plusle and Minun could only be found on different continents. Those tiny electric rodents are joined by mortal enemies Seviper and Zangoose.

While Plusle and Minun are supposed to be together, it's a good thing that Seviper and Zangoose were separated. These two species of Pokemon HATE each other and will usually attack each other on sight. In the main series games, both Pokemon would occasionally appear in "horde battles" and would battle each other instead of the player's Pokemon.

So where are these Pokemon found? Plusle and Zangoose can be found in North America, South America, and Africa, while Seviper and Minun can be found in Europe, Asia, and Australia. There does seem to be at least a little overlap between the two territories, as some players on the northern coast of Africa have allegedly found both sets of Pokemon.


Luckily, none of these Pokemon have particularly impressive stats, so players only need to catch them to fill out their PokeDex.

These four Pokemon join Heracross, Corsola, Tauros, Farfetch'd, Kangaskahn, and Mr. Mime as regional-exclusive Pokemon. Pokemon Go has occasionally held special events in which regional Pokemon appear outside of their normal territories, so don't be too upset if you can't plan an intercontinental trip.