2016 Harvey Award Winners Announced

This weekend, at Baltimore Comic-Con, the who's who of the comic industry gathered together to recognize their achievements in comics. While The Eisner Award nominees are selected by a committee, much like the Academy Awards, The Harvey Awards are decided by those working in the industry.

Named after comic legend Harvey Kurtzman, these awards are designed to recognize the incredible achievements of those working in comics today.

One of the most respected awards in the industry, the Harvey Awards have been held annually since 1988.

The Image hit series, Saga, and the historical drama from Top-Shelf, March: Book Two, both won big at the awards this year. The former took home the coveted awards for Best Writer (Brian K. Vaughn), Best Artist (Fiona Staples), and Best Continuing Series.

Paper Girls, written by Brian K. Vaughn and illustrated by Cliff Chiang, won Best New Series, an honor it took home from The Eisner Awards as well.

March: Book Two also repeated a victory from The Eisner Awards, as it took home the prize for Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation.


The complete list of 2016 winners are:

Best Letterer: John Workman, Ragnarok, IDW Publishing

Best Colorist: Laura Allred, Silver Surfer, Marvel Comics

Best Syndicated Strip or Panel: Bloom County, Berkeley Breathed, Universal Uclick

Best Online Comics Work: Battlepug, Mike Norton, battlepug.com

Best American Edition of Foreign Material: Tie: Two Brothers, Dark Horse Books and Corto Maltese: Beyond The Windy Isles, IDW Publishing

Best Inker: Klaus Janson, Dark Knight III: The Master Race, DC Comics

Best New Series: Paper Girls, Image Comics

Most Promising New Talent: Tom King, The Vision, Marvel Comics

Special Award for Humor in Comics: Chip Zdarsky, Howard The Duck, Marvel Comics

Best Original Graphic Publication for Younger Readers: Lumberjanes, BOOM! Box/BOOM! Studios

Best Graphic Album Previously Published: The Less Than Epic Adventures of TJ & Amal, Iron Circus Comics

Special Award for Excellence in Presentation: Peanuts: A Tribute to Charles M. Schulz, Scott Newman, KaBOOM!/BOOM! Studios

Best Domestic Reprint Project: Crimson Volume 1, BOOM! Studios

Best Cover Artist: Fiona Staples, Saga, Image Comics

Best Biographical, Historical, or Journalistic Presentation: March: Book Two, Top Shelf Productions

Best Anthology: Peanuts: A Tribute to Charles M. Schulz, KaBOOM!/BOOM! Studios

Best Graphic Album Original: March: Book Two, Top Shelf Productions

Best Continuing or Limited Series: Saga, Image Comics

Best Writer: Brian K. Vaughan, Saga, Image Comics

Best Artist: Fiona Staples, Saga, Image Comics

Best Cartoonist: Stan Sakai, Usagi Yojimbo

Best Single Issue or Story: Peanuts: A Tribute to Charles M. Schulz, BOOM! Studios

Harvey Kurtzman Hall of Fame Award: Carl Barks, Al Jaffee

Dick Giordano Humanitarian of the Year Award: Beth Widera

Hero Initiative Lifetime Achievement Award: Joe Giella