Harvey Nominations Include Fairly Diverse Representation

The recently announced final nominees for this year's Harvey Awards, the comic book industry's own award for work in its field, represent several names from larger publishers such as Marvel and DC and a few smaller ones such as Amulet Books and Oni Press. This span was reflected in the three major categories, Best Writer, Best Artist and Best Continuing or Limited Series. In the category of Best Writer, nominees such as Ed Brubaker for Captain America and Grant Morrison for All-Star Superman find themselves in company with Kyle Baker for Nat Turner (Abrams Books), John Gallagher for Buzzboy: Sidekicks Rule! (Sky Dog Comics), and Jeff Kinney for Diary of a Wimpy Kid (Amulet Books). In the Best Artist category, the nominees are as follows: Gabriel Ba, Umbrella Academy (Dark Horse Comics); Kyle Baker, Nat Turner (Abrams Books); Jimmy Gownley, Amelia Rules (Renaissance Press); Jason Kruse, World of Quest (Yen Press) and Frank Quitely for All-Star Superman. In the category of Best Continuing or Limited Series, DC, Marvel, Image and Dark Horse all scored nominations, along with Amulet Books, for All-Star Superman, Captain America, Mice Templar, Umbrella Academy and Diary of a Wimpy Kid, respectively. The winners will be announced this fall at the Baltimore Comic-Con, October 10th and 11th.